About usa

Anglų rašiniai
Microsoft Word 28 KB
1 puslapis

The USA is situated in the central part of the North American continent The total area is over 9 million square kilometers. The Pacific Ocean washes its western coast and the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of Mexico in the south washed its eastern coast. It borders on Canada in the north and Mexico in the south. The USA is a federal republic of fifty states and the District of Columbia. At first it consisted of only 13 states of the Atlantic coast of America. That were English colonies, but they fought against England and in 1776 became an independent state. They won the victory and a new nation was born. As the time went on, settlers from all the countries of Europe moved to the west until the nation reached from the Atlantic to the Pacific. One by one new states were added to the first 13. Much land was taken from the Indians. Some of the territories were bought from France in 1803, others were taken from Mexico. Alaska was bought from Russia in 1817. It became the 49*" state of the USA, in 1859. The same year in 1859 the territory of Hawaii was to the UAS as the 50* state. The USA is divided onto three areas: Eastern area-a high land, Central area-a plane, and western area is mountainous and includes the Rocky mountains and the Sierra Nevada. The Northern part of the USA embraces the region of the five Great Lakes. (Lake Superior Huron, Michigan, Erie, Ontario) which are connected by natural channels, cut by rapids. The greatest of these rapids is the Niagara...